

GOVERNMENT OF KARNATAKA

No. HFW 140 CGM 2021

Karnataka Government Secretariat Vikasa Soudha, Bengaluru, dated: 9.6.2021

ORDER

OVID-19 who Subject: Formation of committee for COVID-19 whole genome sequencing (WGS) and surveillance.

held on 07 Reference: COVID-19 Task force meeting held on 07-06-2021.

Genomic Surveillance is necessary for developing effective control and preventive measures for covid-19. Government of India has mandated that Genomic Surveillance should be done for 5% of the COVID-19 positive cases. The issue has been considered by the Government of Karnataka and it is felt necessary to set up a COVID-19 Genomic Surveillance Committee to guide the department of Health and Family Welfare with a long-term public health perspective in collaboration with national and international stakeholders / studies.

The Genomic Surveillance Committee shall assist the Karnataka COVID-19 Task Force in taking decisions towards controlling the covid-19 pandemic. The Committee shall work with public health experts and institutions to generate surveillance data and develop public health protocols at the state level. Accordingly, the following Committee is constituted.

SI No	Name and current designation	Designation
1	Dr. Ravi .V	Chairman
	State Nodal officer for WGS	
2	Dr. Vishal Rao. U.S. (HCG)	Member
3	Prof. Satyajit Mayor (NCBS)	Member
4	Prof. Anurag Agrawal (IGIB)	Member
5	Dr. Vijay Chandru (Strand)	Member
6	Dr. Taslimarif Saiyed (C-CAMP)	Member
7	DR. Ambika R Prof.& HOD- Dept. of	Member
	Microbiology, BMCRI	
8	DR. Prathiba J. Microbiologist/ senior	Member
	specialist. MD, Microbiology-KCGH	Secretary

The deliverables of the Committee are as follows:

- 1. Preparation of Sero Surveillance strategy for Karnataka and prioritization:
- 2. COVID-19 Genome sequencing to study virus variations/mutations
- 3. RT-PCR tests validations/calibrations across virus mutants.
- 4. In-depth analysis of genome surveillance and vaccination to identify immune escape versions of virus and their spread.

The Committee shall report to the COVID-19 Task Force.

(Jawaid Akhtar)

Additional Chief Secretary to Govt. Health and Family Welfare Department

To:

- 1. Dr. Ravi, V State Nodal officer for WGS
- 2. Dr. Vishal Rao.U.S, HCG Cancer Center
- 3. Prof. Satyajit Mayor (NCBS)
- 4. Prof. Anurag Agrawal (IGIB)
- 5. Dr. Vijay Chandru (Strand)
- Dr. Taslimarif Saiyed (C-CAMP)
- 7. DR. Ambika . R. Professor & HOD- Dept. of Microbiology, BMCRI
- 8. DR. Prathiba J. Microbiologist/ senior specialist. MD, Microbiology-KCGH

Copy to:

- 1. Chief Commissioner, BBMP
- 2. Principal Secretary, ME Dept
- 3. Commissioner, Health & Family Welfare Services, Bengaluru.
- 4. Mission Director, NHM, Bengaluru.
- 5. All Deputy Commissioners
- 6. All CEOs of ZPs.
- 7. Director, H & FWS, Bengaluru
- 8. Director, Medical Education Department
- 9. All District Health and Family Welfare Officers / All District Surgeons.